Starting Write Now

I am writing today from a tiny office in a large hospital.  I am working here-photographing newborn babies, something I would have NEVER in a million years thought I would do. Never.

But I started.  As my blog says, ‘If I don’t start now, I never will’ and so I did.  I started writing and from there I picked up my camera.  It seemed so natural, I wanted beautiful pictures alongside my blog posts so I loaded up and went for a drive.  And soon I was driving every weekend-top down, camera on the passenger seat-looking for things.  Looking at things.  Breathing.  It became meditative to me.  And I started to think I was good.  I could do this.

And so I did.

I hung my prints in a few shops, I booked a few clients and bought myself some business cards.

I was starting something else.

I saw an ad for a newborn photographer and I answered.  Who did I think I was?? I could take pictures of dogs and cows and landscapes, but BABIES?  What did I have to lose? So I started this too.

Turns out I can really do this.

So I left my writing, or set it aside, but it is always in my head-a vague narrative that I want to pen but I always think there will be more time later.  There never is of course.

But maybe now my photography will bring me back to my writing.  I am sitting here waiting somewhat impatiently for my last patient and found myself here.  And it is in the stillness and peace that I look for my words, so naturally….here I am.  Starting again.

xoxo

 

 

 

About startingwritenow

I am a mom, a wife, a sister, daughter and friend. I love a good laugh, a house full of people, a great craft beer (or two), a bold red wine and a book or movie of any kind.-good, bad or otherwise! I believe in learning something everyday, in growing and changing every chance you get. I don't fit in every circle, I don't color inside the lines, but I have learned to love my messy life!
This entry was posted in Writings & Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

