Dear Daddy

I found a man who’s just like you

I swear to you it’s true.

He likes to drink

and toss back a beer,

He’s just like you,

my daddy dear.

He is funny and warm

with a contagious smile,

Give him an inch,

he’ll run for a mile.

He likes to hide under the covers

and tell me his secrets in the bed,

until he’s had a few

and then it all goes to his head.

It’s then I’m not so sure

just who he really is.

It’s then I try to run ,

and hide away the kids.

After a few of those green bottles

or cans of that damn beer,

It doesn’t take that much,

Then we all live with the fear.

I don’t think he means to-

he must’ve missed the door

He didn’t mean to hurt me

when he pushed me to the floor.

When he kicked the stereo

straight through that darn wall

I don’t think he meant to

Not really, not at all.

Oh daddy I want you to meet him

He reminds me so much of you.

He always says I’m sorry

When I turn up black and blue.

I have begged him to please stop,

but I know he never will,

I told him there’s a problem,

And oh if looks could kill!

I don’t think I’ll ever leave him,

or even if I should.

He said he never let me

He’d hurt me then for good.

And Mama never left you,

she never even tried.

All those years she stayed,

And I never saw her cry.

So surely I should stay here

no matter what the future brings.

Surely I belong here

Because I wear his ring.

I owe it all to you

this love I found right here

you’re the one who taught me

that all you need is fear.

About startingwritenow

I am a mom, a wife, a sister, daughter and friend. I love a good laugh, a house full of people, a great craft beer (or two), a bold red wine and a book or movie of any kind.-good, bad or otherwise! I believe in learning something everyday, in growing and changing every chance you get. I don't fit in every circle, I don't color inside the lines, but I have learned to love my messy life!
This entry was posted in Writings & Ramblings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

