Where I’ve Been

I have been noticeably absent from this page lately.  It’s not that I have nothing to say, or to write-of course I do.  But when I moved here I hit the ground running and I have not stopped. I did not want to wade cautiously into my life here-I wanted to jump in and explore, I wanted to be excited and try everything.  And so I have.

By far the best thing I have found is the little animal shelter I volunteer for.  The people are wonderful, kind and funny.  A bit quirky, which should not surprise you if you work with animals-the best of us are, and so full of heart and love.  I am grateful to be working alongside of them.  I am glad I can honor the many women I learned from over the years in SC by helping out here in my new town.

My favorite thing to do there is to photograph the animals.  The intake photos by the animal control officers are good for files and reports, but lets face it, they are mug shots. And if you are searching the internet for a new loving pet, the last thing you want to see is a scared, angry, sad, crazed dog on the end of a leash in a concrete kennel.  Am I right?  It is much like real estate-which I worked in for 6 years-if you don’t have curb appeal, if your pictures don’t grab people, they just keep clicking.

So that is where I have been.  Once a week, or sometimes more, I am rolling in the grass with stinky, dirty dogs trying to make them smile.  These are dogs that have no name, or don’t know their name because we just gave it to them 2 days ago.  They are dogs that have never been on a leash or don’t know any commands-sit? HAHAHAHA! That is a good one.

But I have patience and a lot of faith, and an Animal Control Officer that helps me immensely, and together we act like fools for as long as it takes.  Until we get that one shot out of let’s say, 50 images that says-take me home with you.

I love it. And I want to share it. And at some point, I want to be able to make dogs smile for  their owners-I want to build a business that gives back to the shelter.

So, that is where I have been, and now I would love it if you would join me-take a look at my new page- All For Paws Photography, Pictures with a Purpose.  It is new, it is small, but it is what I love, and I hope you do too!

IMG_2895

About startingwritenow

I am a mom, a wife, a sister, daughter and friend. I love a good laugh, a house full of people, a great craft beer (or two), a bold red wine and a book or movie of any kind.-good, bad or otherwise! I believe in learning something everyday, in growing and changing every chance you get. I don't fit in every circle, I don't color inside the lines, but I have learned to love my messy life!
This entry was posted in Writings & Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Where I’ve Been

  1. What a lovely post! 🙂

Leave a Reply

