Just a Number

its just a number

Is what they say

But its THAT number

Its what I weigh.

I hate that thing

The goddamn scale

It makes me feel

Like a big fat whale.

Just ‘make a change’

Its easy for you

To pick up and go

Its what you do.

but my body fails

in more ways than one

I can’t just jump

Or hop skip and run.

Just when I think

Im better than that

Its here to remind me

Im broken and fat.

These toes don’t wiggle

This leg is still numb

When I think I can do it

It makes me feel dumb.

My back starts to ache

And everything is sore

And all I can think

Is its surgery once more.

I envy those girls

In the pages I see

I wish I could be

All svelte and skinny.

Just once in my life

To not have to be

The girl in the picture

With the big booty.

Don’t tell me its in

More meat on my bones

When media produces

These tiny little clones.

And no im not young

Not twelve or fifteen

Not 20 or thirty

Not somewhere in between.

Nope im a mom

A few years under my belt

I should be better than this

Played the cards ive been dealt.

But yet here I am

Still trying to be

Not just healthy and fit

But just a little skinny.

About startingwritenow

I am a mom, a wife, a sister, daughter and friend. I love a good laugh, a house full of people, a great craft beer (or two), a bold red wine and a book or movie of any kind.-good, bad or otherwise! I believe in learning something everyday, in growing and changing every chance you get. I don't fit in every circle, I don't color inside the lines, but I have learned to love my messy life!
This entry was posted in Writings & Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Just a Number

  1. You sound like my missus when she steps off the scales. 🙂
    Good poem!

Leave a Reply

