Wherever you go, there you are…

So very true, isn’t it? Here I am, in this new town full of people, of which I have only met two, or three. I think it is three. Here I am.

Over the last week my sister and then my mother both came to visit me in my new digs. Barely unpacked, hardly explored, a tad unorganized, they both arrived. Back to back visits.It sounds insane really. But it was perfect timing and I could not be more grateful that they did not wait for a holiday, or even an invitation for that matter. They came just as homesickness was setting in, as boxes were looking like monsters squatting in the corners, as the empty beige walls of this new house were starting to make me feel empty.

They came and helped me explore the area, find the parks and zoo. They came and looked at my home with a different eye and then rearranged my furniture. They came and beat down those boxes and organized my closet. They came and made me forget that I have moved and this is all for real, and made me feel like I was on vacation for a while. They reminded me that I am happiest when my home is full of people and chaos, laughter and light. That too much time spent alone makes you feel, well, just plain lonely.

And now it is Monday, everyone has gone home and real life begins.  My youngest will start camp today, my oldest was invited to a barbeque and it is now my turn. My turn to take my own advice to ‘get out and meet people’, and ‘try something different, you might just like it’.

Here I go. 

About startingwritenow

I am a mom, a wife, a sister, daughter and friend. I love a good laugh, a house full of people, a great craft beer (or two), a bold red wine and a book or movie of any kind.-good, bad or otherwise! I believe in learning something everyday, in growing and changing every chance you get. I don't fit in every circle, I don't color inside the lines, but I have learned to love my messy life!
This entry was posted in Writings & Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

