Just Three?

Three songs, three songs, three songs.

How do you pick just three songs for this challenge when your life has been full of music and melodies, soundtracks and songs? It’s too hard. There is too much attached to each one, each memory, and thinking of one song leads into another, creating a medley of thoughts, and feelings and of course music. I have to bend the rules, I have to have a medley or a mashup or whatever you want to call it here…I can’t choose just three, I already have at least a dozen in my head…

My Father and the Eight Track

            My father was a musician in another lifetime. Before kids, before marriage. He was Bobby, of Bobby and the Five Fashions-a doo-wop group, in that long gone era of music that was actually created by talented masterful artists. He was handsome and had a beautiful voice then. And some of the best memories I have of my dad when I was young are from the days we would sit and listen to music. The long gone eight track stereo would be playing and I would be sitting smack in front of it on the orange shag carpet. Supertramp, Boston, Kansas, Styx.   The Logical Song, Take the Long Way Home? Love them, love the whole Breakfast in America album. I can still see the cover if I close my eyes. Boston/Boston-Let Me Take You Home Tonight, More Than A Feeling..I want to grab my dad’s huge and puffy headphones and surround myself with the melodies right now…And Kansas-Point of No Return, Carry On Wayward Son and Dust in the Wind? Come on, you cannot tell me there is anything better now. Dennis DeYoung and Tommy Shaw belted out so many songs during my youth it is hard to pick one or two, but The Best of Times, Come Sail Away and Blue Collar Man…I can still here them playing.

Image

My Best Friend and the Record Player

            My best friend since 3rd grade and I loved music. Her father had a ‘stereo console’ downstairs in the finished basement that we LOVED to mess with. Vinyl. We had vinyl! And her dad had 45’s of oldies but goodies. Jen and I were silly and goofy and we made up dances to his music, practicing and laughing for hours. Do You Wanna Dance by Bobby Freeman…I can’t tell you how many times we played this little ditty and danced like fools. I still know all the words.   When the seventies kicked in full swing we discovered Journey’s Open Arms, cracking ourselves up on the front lawn as we acted out (with wild exaggeration) the painstaking lyrics of this classic love song. Good times…

Image

The Eighties

The eighties left me a tad schizophrenic in the music department, and I am not ashamed to say I am still there. The eighties brought on the hair bands, really terribly bad but good rock and roll-Whitesnake ,Poison, Ratt, Motley Crue and a whole mess of cheesy hip hop and dance. Pebbles ‘Mercedes Boy’ takes me back to my little Honda Prelude, windows down, sunroof open and mile high hair blowing in the breeze.   Whitesnake brings me back to the beach at night, hanging out with boys, trying to be cool, and cute and all of that teenage angst. Prince and Purple Rain, a movie and soundtrack I played over and over and over and likely still know all the words too. Boys II Men-beautifully corny lyrics and delicious five part harmonies-Candy Girl anyone? MC Hammer-those pants-who didn’t have those pants??

Image

I could go on and on, but I won’t. I’ve already broken almost all the rules on this one. I think I am going to go hit up iTunes…

 

About startingwritenow

I am a mom, a wife, a sister, daughter and friend. I love a good laugh, a house full of people, a great craft beer (or two), a bold red wine and a book or movie of any kind.-good, bad or otherwise! I believe in learning something everyday, in growing and changing every chance you get. I don't fit in every circle, I don't color inside the lines, but I have learned to love my messy life!
This entry was posted in Writings & Ramblings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

