Today. Right Now.

Image

Today is the day. There is a gigantic orange truck parked outside of my house ready to swallow up all of my belongings. There are strangers in my house going through all of my things like well-trained thieves. I have tried to prepare, to organize my things the way I want them packed, but I have a feeling all of that was for nothing. They will be tossed into random boxes without a care.

I don’t remember the last time we moved. It was just over 13 years ago. I am sure we had movers, but I know we also had a U-Haul, and towed a car, and I feel like we at least packed ourselves. This is different. It is like 5 Tasmanian devils have just walked into my house. It is unsettling to say the least.

I have decided rather than cracking a beer at 9:30am and trying to micromanage the situation, I am going to stay on ‘Denial Island’ as it has been dubbed, and write. I have hours to watch this melee, so what better time to revamp my page, catch up on my Zero to Hero assignments, and figure out where this blog is going. I can peruse Pinterest, update my status on Facebook and maybe even read a bit. My dogs are at my feet, there is a slight breeze here on the porch. I can just sit here and pretend this is not happening for a little while longer.

Alright, I may still have the beer.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About startingwritenow

I am a mom, a wife, a sister, daughter and friend. I love a good laugh, a house full of people, a great craft beer (or two), a bold red wine and a book or movie of any kind.-good, bad or otherwise! I believe in learning something everyday, in growing and changing every chance you get. I don't fit in every circle, I don't color inside the lines, but I have learned to love my messy life!
This entry was posted in Writings & Ramblings and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Today. Right Now.

  1. Nida S. says:

    ‘Denial Island’ can be a good destination. See how much free time it got you:)?

  2. terzahcain says:

    I see we have similar strategies when faced with geographic changes. Nice piece.

Leave a Reply

