Go Ride a Bike

This morning is cool and crisp, unusual so late in May, but I love it. I have chill bumps on my arms-just enough that I am not cold, but refreshed. Alive. I strap on my helmet and swing my leg over the frame. It is dusty. It has been too long. I have been lazy and busy and everything else has come first, but today I am going to ride my bike.

Today I will cover new ground, twists and turns that are unfamiliar to me. I have moved from the flat Lowcountry landscape to the rolling hills of my new home in Georgia. My thighs will burn, my arms will ache and that is okay. Today I will see with new eyes the roads I ride, the farms I pass. I will smell the stable, the horses, the grass. I will wave to strangers and nod at other riders. Today I will feel my way around this new town. I don’t mind getting lost, wandering too far. It is all part of the plan. Grow, expand, explore. My chills will give way to sweat and I will feel strong and free. For a few hours (if I last that long) I will not hear the ringing in my ears, I will hear the wind as I cut through the air, the cows out in the pasture and the rooster down the road. Today I will notice all the things I can’t in my car, driving at 40mph. I will stop and look around, take a picture, breath and be in the moment. It is the beauty of a bike ride. You are closer to peace, to nature, to yourself.

Today I will contribute to The Bicycle Stories, even though I did not ride. My bike is up on hooks, waiting for the movers to come and pack it up. I have a list a mile long of things I have to do before Tuesday, when my things disappear-boxed, bagged, and shipped to my new home. But today is beautiful-the perfect day for a ride. I can feel it if I close my eyes, I can imagine it right now. And while I cannot join the Bicycle Stories right now, circumstances beyond my control, I will gladly my friend, join you in June. When the truck delivers our things, I will not hang up my bike. I will dust it off, and tune it up and I will ride.

If you ride, or are thinking of riding, join in… http://cornedbeefhashtag.wordpress.com/2014/05/20/bicycle-stories-month-week-3-recap-and-round-up/

About startingwritenow

I am a mom, a wife, a sister, daughter and friend. I love a good laugh, a house full of people, a great craft beer (or two), a bold red wine and a book or movie of any kind.-good, bad or otherwise! I believe in learning something everyday, in growing and changing every chance you get. I don't fit in every circle, I don't color inside the lines, but I have learned to love my messy life!
This entry was posted in Writings & Ramblings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Go Ride a Bike

  1. Nida S. says:

    The description here was so vivid. For a second there I thought I was strapped behing you on the bike. I always look at bikers cycling by with awe and envy. Riding into the caressing arms of nature. Hope you enjoyed your bike ride 🙂

Leave a Reply

