Happiness

Happiness

“Whoever said money can’t buy happiness, has never paid an adoption fee.” I beg to differ. After countless hours on rescue and shelter sites I found Bridget. An owner turn in brought to a little underfunded shelter in NC. A friend that volunteers there on weekends arranged her transport and delivered her to my door on Mother’s Day.
All of my dogs have been rescued. My first was 3, had been hit by a car and was deemed ‘aggressive’. He is 11 now, a gorgeous yellow lab that has brought more love and joy to our home than I can ever describe. My oldest dog was 11, we think, when we adopted him. He was a cranky, old, smelly, toothless brown lab that was boarding at the clinic. He growled at every dog that walked by him. I insisted he needed to come home with us for Christmas-he just needed a home for Christmas! He never left. I sat with him during a surgery because I was afraid he would die and didn’t want him to die alone. He didn’t. He lived several more years, hobbling around our house, wagging at everyone he met. We let him go at the age of 15 (we think) in our backyard, in the sun and grass he loved, while we scratched his belly. And my girl Sarah,, an owner turn in due to financial reasons and divorce. A gorgeous English lab, from a bloodline with papers and a grandfather that was a Master Hunter. She like Joey was fully trained, basic bedience and some hand signals, and within 24 hours of us fostering her, my husband had a pink collar and a new nametag on her. She was ours, she stole our hearts.
And now we have our little Bridget. Five months old and so stinking cute, I cannot even handle it. Hasn’t chewed a thing, and is learning her commands, and totally housetrained. She is joy in an 18lb ball of fur.
I will always adopt. I will always rescue. I cannot imagine not saving animals, beautiful, healthy, loving, perfectly good animals. There is always a story, always a reason why they are in a shelter or rescue, but it is not always their fault. More times than not, they are there because of an owner problem, not a dog problem. And all they need is the love, time and patience they deserve. Because look what they give back…two days in my house and this girl-those eyes-they are saying ‘thank you.’ They are saying ‘ I love you’. They are saying money bought not just my happiness, my kids happiness, but hers too. And that is money well spent.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_assignment/101-build-on-your-post/

About startingwritenow

I am a mom, a wife, a sister, daughter and friend. I love a good laugh, a house full of people, a great craft beer (or two), a bold red wine and a book or movie of any kind.-good, bad or otherwise! I believe in learning something everyday, in growing and changing every chance you get. I don't fit in every circle, I don't color inside the lines, but I have learned to love my messy life!
Image | This entry was posted in Writings & Ramblings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Happiness

  1. NS says:

    aaa she is so freaking adorable! I tried to rescue a dog once. He was stuck in a sewerage tunnel. Back home we have tons of wild dogs scouring the streets. But this particular pup was too cute. We kept him for a year or so but he never got fully trained and we were unable to handle him. We had to give him away to someone. We now have a full bred golden lab back home. He is quite old now. Aah you made me relive some nice memories:).

  2. oldmainer says:

    We are cut from the same cloth I suspect. We have had (and still have two. You can see their pictures in my post Things My Dogs Have Taught Me) strays over the years, most adopted from kennels. I can’t begin to express the joy they have brought into our lives.

    • Agree. I am looking forward to settling in GA so that I can begin to volunteer again, I do miss it. And with a bigger yard, who knows what furry friends I will add to our home!

Leave a Reply

