Now I See

I have been looking for you

In all the wrong places

Waiting to see you

In all the wrong faces

 

I hoped to please you

To make you proud of me

I hoped to fill that space

I hoped one day you would see

 

I have been searching for him

And thinking I was smart

I have been repeating my mistakes

And breaking my own heart

 

It was never him I sought to find

It was never him I needed

I’ve been looking for you my dear

And crying out tho you’ve not heeded

 

Over and over I have been in this same place

Again and again the result is the same

A different name or a different place

And yes I am the only one to blame

 

Oh how I see it now

It’s all become so clear

These patterns that I’ve made

My attempts all these years

 

And now that it’s clear

I can finally let it all go

It’s not my burden to carry

It won’t weigh me down anymore

 

 

 

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_writing_challenge/poetry/comment-page-2/#comment-346528

 

 

 

About startingwritenow

I am a mom, a wife, a sister, daughter and friend. I love a good laugh, a house full of people, a great craft beer (or two), a bold red wine and a book or movie of any kind.-good, bad or otherwise! I believe in learning something everyday, in growing and changing every chance you get. I don't fit in every circle, I don't color inside the lines, but I have learned to love my messy life!
This entry was posted in Short Stories & Prompts, Writings & Ramblings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Now I See

  1. Namesake says:

    Absolutely marvelous I must say

  2. Pingback: Guest Post – A Special Short Story Written by Helena Hann-Basquiat – “Poetry Slam, Daddy-O!” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

