Zero to Hero:Who are you, and why are you here?

Well, if this isn’t one of those questions I have asked myself a million times in my life.  Ha!

I think I have covered the who am I in my About Me, but not the why am I here.  Somedays I am not sure, but I am staying so I will give it a go.

 

I find myself here because words fill my head all day long.  Words I want to say, words I should have said, words I read and words I hear.  Not in a schizophrenic kind of way-my job has me on the road for 6 hours a day so I listen to news radio, and audiobooks all day long.  I used to write-poems and stories and essays (though I am not sure I knew that is what they were then) and now in my adult life, I have been told I should write.  While I was struggling with my health and a crappy lawsuit, I was told I should journal, but I couldn’t.  I was terrified of subpoenas and strangers reading them in a courtroom. Judging not my words but me as a whole.  I took a job writing marketing bits and ghostwriting blog posts for a friends business and that lead to another job doing the same but on a grander scale and I started to think, ‘okay, maybe…’ and then I submitted an essay to a blog that I follow, and it was posted.  Shared for all the world.  And that is when I said, ‘okay, I am going to do this.  And wherever it goes, I will follow’.  Now that I am not afraid (as much) I find the writing effortless and cathartic in ways I never dreamed.

I’d like to say I have a ‘target audience’ but I don’t.  I don’t want to spoon feed a certain audience what they want to read.  If I do that, then I am doing this for them, not for me.  I want to write what comes to me, whether it is a story or poem or essay.  I want to connect with people, not an ‘audience’.  And to be honest, my life isn’t divided into categories like that. It is really messy.  One thing always leads to another.  So this is a little of everything.  It is all of me in no particular order.

As for what I would like to accomplish-I want it all! LOL. Just kidding. I would love to be ‘a writer’ but I don’t know how to define that.  Do I think I could write a book? It sounds overwhelming.  Short stories, yes, I bet I could.  Would I like some aspect of writing to be how I make my living-yes, that would be my dream.  How to get from here to there? Not so sure.

So that is the Why am I Here.   

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_assignment/zero-to-hero-1-april2014/

About startingwritenow

I am a mom, a wife, a sister, daughter and friend. I love a good laugh, a house full of people, a great craft beer (or two), a bold red wine and a book or movie of any kind.-good, bad or otherwise! I believe in learning something everyday, in growing and changing every chance you get. I don't fit in every circle, I don't color inside the lines, but I have learned to love my messy life!
This entry was posted in Writings & Ramblings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Zero to Hero:Who are you, and why are you here?

  1. aishasoasis says:

    I like your blog name and tagline alot, and your intro is wonderful! Best wishes for a successful blog and happy greetings from egypt!

Leave a Reply

