Um, Nevermind.

So, I signed up to do the A to Z Challenge that starts this week. Or at least I think I did. I commented on the page that I wanted to but I didn’t get a reply or an email that said anything. And I can’t find my name on the list, which has grown incredibly long, and if I don’t know if I was added, then I don’t know where to look, and it could take me hours to find myself.  Then, I printed the rules and I got even more confused. I have to visit the blogs of the 5 people under my name daily, but I don’t know where my name is. I have to display my number of followers, which I think I have but I am not sure. And I have to disable the two step authentication for posting, which I don’t think I have anyway. But I am not sure. I have to select a category for my blog, which I assume would be miscellaneous. Or writing. Maybe personal. Some days it could be humor.  (Do you see the problem I am having?) Then, I noticed they recommend and would prefer you choose a theme and base your blog posts off of a theme.

Um, Nevermind.

I don’t do themes. If I did, my blog would be about …..I don’t know, because I don’t do themes.  My brain does not work in categories or boxes.  I color outside of the lines.  I make messes. I am a train of thought thinker. I start speaking mid sentence. I wake up and continue a thought from the night before.  You get the picture. It would become work and that is not what I want this to be.  This is me growing and learning.  I know writing every day teaches you, and makes you a better writer, and I am doing that, even if it is not all posted here. (You should be grateful for that! ) And yes, I understand the other benefit of doing one of these challenges is to help bring readers to your blog, but I think I am okay without that too.  No, it’s not that I don’t want readers.  I am thrilled to have all 38 of you with me. Humbled, blessed, happy beyond belief. But I like that you all chose to be here.  You found me, stumbled upon my blog, sat in a comfy chair and stayed.  If I could make a big pot of coffee for you all, I would. But do I want a bunch of readers to click follow just because they are obligated to do so? No, my writing feels more personal than that.

I am sure I am worrying for nothing, because I do that too.  I am sure it would be fine, and it would be fun and I would not be judged on my theme or what have you.  But why worry? I don’t think this is for me. I want it to be. Maybe someday. But not today.

No, I think I will pass on this one. Best of luck and have fun to all that are participating, I am excited to read what everyone writes, but I am bowing out.  Sorry for any inconvenience, but um, nevermind.

 

About startingwritenow

I am a mom, a wife, a sister, daughter and friend. I love a good laugh, a house full of people, a great craft beer (or two), a bold red wine and a book or movie of any kind.-good, bad or otherwise! I believe in learning something everyday, in growing and changing every chance you get. I don't fit in every circle, I don't color inside the lines, but I have learned to love my messy life!
This entry was posted in Writings & Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Um, Nevermind.

  1. annevivid says:

    Yeah. I am pretty sure the A-Z challenge wouldn’t be a good fit for me either. Still figuring out so much about this blogging world- but there is only so much time in the day!

  2. It’s all the rules that dampen the fire. I agree with you and annevivid in other comment.

Leave a Reply

