Sometimes you just know…

            I just did what I know as a real estate agent is the absolute WORST thing to do, and I did it anyway.  I fell in love with a house-hard. And I fell in love with it because of the things in it, the books, and the art.  I fell in love because it had a chunk of rose quartz on a shelf and the same print that hangs in my sister in laws house on the wall in the dining room.  I smiled and fell deeper when I saw her Burmese brass tray used as a coffee table-the same one that sits on a wooden cube in-yep, my sister in laws house.  The pink and white curtains, and pale pink futon called to my heart and pulled me back to my summer in Sweden with my husband’s aunt.  She is the most amazing woman, an artist, whose aura just kind of glows around her.  She is beautiful and kind and is always dressed in flowing white and lace with bits of color; usually pink, here and there.  After spending three weeks on her farm in the outskirts of Frillesas, I decided she was more like my fairy Godmother-she just had that ethereal spirit about her.  When I left, I felt so completely different about who I was, where I wanted to live and so many other things, I swear her farm was magic. 

            So when I walked into this house and I saw these things that I knew this house was calling to me.  It felt open and light and peaceful and with each room that I walked through, I felt more and more at home. When I finally walked into her tiny office and saw the little book of the Dalai Lama’s teachings, and her desk perfectly lit by the afternoon sun, I was done for. I didn’t even need to see the deck or the yard I was already a goner.  But I opened the screen door and stepped out onto what is just an ordinary deck, and I told my husband I was sold.  Give me the paperwork I am done looking.  He laughed and asked me about the basement I wanted and the guest room we were both hoping for, but standing on the deck surrounded by what turns out to be just over 1.5 acres of land, with trees and woods and birds and critters, I decided I didn’t need those things.  I need to be where my heart feels good. I need to be where my soul feels at home.  I know it sounds hokey, but after some not so great years, you look at things from a different lens, and I can’t explain that if you haven’t been through it.  I couldn’t explain it to him either. I mean just hours earlier we were on the back porch of a brand new, gorgeous, all decked out spec home in a new neighborhood and when I looked out into the yard, I wanted to cry.  It was barren and empty and I could hear construction and yard workers and I knew that peace would not find me here for a good long while.  And I value my peace at this point in my life.

            So we made our offer and one counter later, we had a deal. It did not escape me that it was a full moon that night and in some email or Facebook post I had read that day said the full moon was in Virgo (and I am a Virgo-another sign!) and when I looked it up, it said:

“This Moon beckons you to watch seedlings bloom and begin to realize your potential…. Virgo is the Virgin and that means fresh new beginnings….This maiden will show you where you need to start over again.  Issues around health, natural living, balance and sorting out life’s details will be apparent now. Virgo wants to get you organized for the busy spring and summer ahead!”

I cannot help but believe in karma and positive energy and stars aligning. Secretly, I believe the stars lined up just right, and when I placed my hand on her quartz, on the very day of the full moon, with book about the Dalai Lama in front of me, and Aunt Helena’s pink colors and Kristen’s brass table behind me, it all just came together.  It was effortless, and right.  And as a real estate agent I have always told my clients, when it’s right, it won’t be so hard. You will know, and it will all fall into place.

Lo and behold, it really does. 

About startingwritenow

I am a mom, a wife, a sister, daughter and friend. I love a good laugh, a house full of people, a great craft beer (or two), a bold red wine and a book or movie of any kind.-good, bad or otherwise! I believe in learning something everyday, in growing and changing every chance you get. I don't fit in every circle, I don't color inside the lines, but I have learned to love my messy life!
This entry was posted in Writings & Ramblings and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

